FAQ

  1. How do I sign up and create my own profile?
  2. How do I create a new group?
  3. How do I join an existing group?
  4. Can I join multiple groups?
  5. Why don't I see whether an item on someone else's list has been purchased or not?
  6. How can I see a list of all of the items I have purchased for others?
  7. What does it mean to join a group with "view only" attributes?
  8. How can I invite someone else to join the site?

Q. How do I sign up and create my own profile?

A. It is very simple to create your own profile and wish list on My Christmas Wish List (www.christmaswishlist.net).  Click here to get started creating your own profile now.

 

Q. How do I create a new group?

A. Once you have created a profile and are logged in, click on the My Groups link under the My Wish List menu.  Then click on the Create New Group link in the menu on the left side of the page.

Enter the group name of a new group you would like to create. If the group name does not already exist, you will have the option of creating a new group using this name.

Create a passcode for this group which will be used by others to allow them to join your new group. It serves as a deterrant for random users trying to join your group without permission, so use a code that is not easily guessed. You will need to share this passcode with anyone you would like to have join your group.

The View Only option allows you to view other users' lists without actually being an official member of that group.  You can see them, but they can't see you. This is useful, for example, if you want to see your friend's list without being a full member of their family's group.

 

Q. How do I join an existing group?

A. In order to join an existing group, you need to know the group authentication code, or passcode, for that group.  This is for security reasons, as it allows you to pass around the code to your friends to join, while minimizing the chance of a casual passer-by from joining your group.

Once you have created a profile and are logged in, click on the My Groups link under the My Wish List menu. Then click on the Join Existing Group link on the left menu. Type the name of the group you are looking to join into the form and click Continue. If the name exists, you will be prompted to enter the group authentication code which will allow you access to join that group.

The View Only option allows you to look at other users' lists in the group without actually being an official member of that group.  You can see them, but they can't see you. This is useful, for example, if you want to see your friend's list without being a full member of their family's group.

 

Q. Can I join multiple groups?

A. Yes.  You can join as many groups as you like. You can have separate groups for immediate family, distant family, friends, coworkers, etc. This allows you to see everyone's list you care about, without everyone being in the same group and having your coworkers seeing your family's lists.

 

Q. Why don't I see whether an item on someone else's list has been purchased or not?

A. One of the most important features of the site is to see what items have already been purchased for someone else in your group. But, because you may not want to see what has been bought for people such as your spouse, your children, or if you have a second login for you and your spouse together, this feature is turned off by default for each user.

On the My Profile page under My Wish List, the last section is entitled Purchase History Viewing Options.  Just click on the Change button and check off those users for whom you want to see purchase information, and click Update Profile.  Now, when you view their list, you will be able to see and add to the purchase status for that item.

 

Q. How can I see a list of all of the items I have purchased for others?

A. There is a link on the left hand side of the My Wish List page entitled Items I've Purchased, and a link under the My Wish List menu entitled My Purchases.  Click on that link to see a list of all the items you have marked as purchased or partially purchased for other users' lists. Once on that page, click on the user's name to see their entire list, or click on an item to see its purchase status.

 

Q. What does it mean to join a group with "view only" attributes?

A. View Only attributes gives you the ability to view members of multiple groups without actually joining all of the groups.  This means that you can see everyone's list in that group, but they can't see you.  In other words, your account does not show up to those members in that View Only group when they log in, but you can read their list. 

This is great for when you want to see your relatives' lists without actually being a full member of their family. For example, you may have a membership group for your immediate family, and you and your spouse each have a group for extended family. By joining the extended family groups as View Only, you can see those lists without having to show up on their groups' list. You become a silent on-looker to that group instead of a real member.

 

Q. How can I invite someone else to join the site?

A. Simply go to this page and fill out the form to send en email to people who are not currently using the site to invite them to join. They will be sent an email with an invitation from you, and a link to join the site and be automatically added to your group.